Assumed Name State Statutes
needs to register under the assumed business name
Sole proprietorships - Businesses
defined under state law as being owned by an
individual or married couple.
General partnerships - An
association of two or more persons who carry on as
co-owners of a for-profit business entity.
Professional services corporations
- A business corporation formed by an individual or
group of individuals who are required by law to be
licensed or obtain other legal authorization from
the state to deliver services (examples include
doctors, dentists, land surveyors, podiatrists and
some attorneys). Proof of filing with the Secretary
of State's office is required.
By adding any word(s)
to your own personal name you have constituted an
For example, adding the
word “Company” or “Service” behind your personal
name constitutes an assumed name.
What is required before you
can obtain an assumed name certificate?
A fee of $5.00.
Notarized signatures for EACH
person doing business under the name (The notarized
signatures will be required on the application).
How can you register an assumed name?
register under the Assumed Business Name Act by
stopping by our office at 507 Vermont Street,
Monday thru Friday
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. to fill out an
Fill out the
application, sign and have it notarized, and
mail it with a check or money order made payable to
the Adams County Clerk at:
507 Vermont St
What steps are required next?
Once the application is
received in the County Clerk’s office, we will issue
This certificate can be
taken to any newspaper of general circulation in
It must be published
once a week for three weeks.
The first publication
must appear within fifteen (15) days from the date
the certificate is filed.
Upon receiving proof of publication from the
newspaper, we will send you a certificate of
Ownership of Business.
emergency contact (key holder) information to the
Quincy/Adams County 9-1-1 Communications Center.
To find out more,
What if there are changes in the business
If there is any change in the address, name of
owner(s) or address, it is necessary to file a
Supplemental Assumed Name Certificate with the
County Clerk’s Office, indicating the change. The
filing fee for this is $1.50.
Publication is again required if
the change involves: adding owner(s) names to the
business, closing the business, withdrawing owner(s)
names when withdrawal involves 25% or more of the
total ownership, or change of business address.
Applications for New Assumed names and
Assumed Name Application
Supplemental Certificate: Cancellation of
Business or Withdrawl of Owners
Supplemental Certificate: Additional Owners
Supplemental Certificate: Change of Owner's
Name or Address, Change of Business Address