SAFE KIDS ADAMS COUNTY

CAR SEAT SAFETY

 

Safe Kids Adams County has been involved in Car Seat Safety for over 10 years. More than 40 certified Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Technicians are involved with this program to help ensure that children are riding as safely as possible.

 

Public Car Seat Check-ups [Click for Schedule] are held monthly (January through November) at Central Fire Station in Quincy. A large number of the CPS technicians are Quincy Firefighters along with police officers, sheriffs deputies, Adams County Health Department staff along with Blessing Hospital, Quincy Medical Group and Blessing Physician Services nurses and many other agencies throughout the community.

 

All of these individuals have participated in a 40 hour training program and must continue to receive Continuing Education credits and hands-on training to re-certify every 2 years.

 

Illinois Child Passenger Safety Law – Requires that ALL children UNDER the age of 8 years ride in a car seat the seat can be an infant carrier, convertible seat, toddler seat or a booster seat as long as it is appropriate for the child.  It is the responsibility of the person driving the car to ensure that the child is properly restrained.  Illinois law is one of the strictest in the nation, so when traveling to other states continue to follow IL law and you will be in compliance.

 

COMMON TYPES OF CAR SEATS

 

INFANT CARRIER – can be used rear-facing only, may have a removable base and usually has an upper weight limit of 20-22 pounds.

 

CONVERTIBLE CAR SEAT – can be used either rear-facing or forward-facing.  Usually has a rear-facing upper weight limit of 30-35 pounds and a forward-facing upper weight limit to 50 pounds.

 

TODDLER SEAT – can be used forward-facing only and usually has an upper weight limit of 40 pounds.  Usually can also be used as a Booster seat with an upper weight limit of 50-65 pounds.

 

BOOSTER SEAT – can be used forward-facing only and usually has an upper weight limit of 80-100 pounds.

 

Children should be rear facing until age 2 years.


  Home  | FOIA Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer