HOW DO I OBTAIN A BACKGROUND CHECK ON A PERSON?
The Adams County Sheriffs Department does NOT provide this service. You must contact the IL State Police. Information received from the Bureau of Identification of the Illinois State Police contains all records for the entire state. The cost is $12.00. If you have questions, you may call 815-740-5216 for further assistance.
HOW DO I OBTAIN A CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT?
Citizens of the State of Illinois CANNOT carry concealed weapons. If you carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle you have committed a felony. Citizens in the State of Illinois must own a Firearm Owner’s Identification (F.O.I.D.) card. A citizen must apply using an application available at the Sheriff’s or Police Department or through the State of Illinois. This only enables the citizen to possess firearm(s). It does not register the weapons or allow the citizen to carry the weapons in public or concealed.
HOW DO I GET CIVIL PAPERS SERVED AND WHAT IS THE COST?
The Adams County Sheriff’s Department civil division is open during normal business hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday to serve the public. We are located at the Adams County Sheriff’s Department. Papers for service are brought into the Sheriff’s Department by courier delivery, U.S. Mail, the filing attorney or the plaintiff/petitioner. For mail delivery please send to:
Adams County Sheriff’s Department
Attn: Civil Process
521 Vermont Street
Quincy, Illinois 62301
HOW DO I GET INFORMATION ABOUT SOMEONE WHO IS IN JAIL?
It can take anywhere from an hour to several hours for someone to complete the booking process depending upon the number of persons that may be ahead of the person being booked. It can also depend on the charges and if the person is cooperating with the booking process. The best way for you to get information is to call the jail at 217-277-2202 and speak to an officer. The officer can give you the amount of bail, the charges and when the person’s first court appearance would be if they are unable to make bail. Keep in mind that after the initial court appearance, the jail does not have other court dates. Those dates can be obtained from the individual or from the Circuit Clerks’ Office. The Adams County Jail holds prisoners for municipal police agencies in the county as well as for the Adams County Sheriff’s Department, the Illinois State Police and the U.S. Marshals. Some prisoners may be held here on a temporary basis if they are in transit to another jail facility through the inter-state transportation co-op.
WHEN ARE VISITING HOURS FOR THE JAIL?
Visitation for male inmates is Sunday from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. and Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Visitation for female inmates is Sunday from 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. and Thursday 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
JAIL COMMISSARY AND ITEMS FOR INMATES:
Jail commissary is Tuesdays only. Money orders are accepted for up to $50.00 per inmate. Personal items may be dropped off for inmates at the jail Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and Wednesday from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. ONLY. Inmates belongings may be picked up during the above listed hours as well.
HOW DO I GET A COPY OF A POLICE REPORT?
To obtain a copy of a police report from the Sheriff’s Department, contact the Records Division of the Sheriff’s Department at 217-277-2200. In some cases, reports can not be released do to privacy act laws or if the case is under active investigation. There may be a nominal fee for this service.
WHAT ARE THE ADMINISTRATION HOURS?
The office is open five days a week from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The phone number is 217-277-2200.
HOW DO I GO ABOUT GETTING MY PROPERTY BACK WHETHER LOST OR STOLEN?
Property is released to the legal owner by appointment only. Please call Deputy Brad Waddill at 217-277-2212 to schedule an appointment.
HOW DO I FILE AN ACCIDENT REPORT?
If there are injuries involved, call 9-1-1. If there is only property damage, call 217-277-2200 to report the accident. If the accident you are involved in involves over $500.00 total damage to vehicles and/or injury to any party, you are required by law to complete the State Accident Report.
The driver of a vehicle that is in any manner involved in an accident within the State of Illinois, resulting in injury to or death of any person, or in which damage to the property of any one person, including himself, in excess of $500.00 is sustained, shall, as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report of the accident to the Administrator.
I’M GOING AWAY ON VACATION. HOW CAN I PROTECT MY HOME?
Contact the Adams County Sheriff’s Department at 217-277-2200 so that a vacation check sheet can be filled out. This will guarantee extra patrol for the duration of your absence. If you will be gone for several days, it is a good idea to have someone take delivery of your mail, newspapers, etc. Many types of timed switches are available to turn lights, radios, etc. on and off at multiple times of the day.
WHAT IS D.A.R.E.??
D.A.R.E. stands for Drug Abuse Resistance Education. The program is more than educating children about the dangers of drugs. It also teaches them ways to respond to the pressures they experience in the 5th grade and beyond. Each student completes a workbook as a part of the program. There are seventeen lessons, fifty minutes in length taught one per week through a semester.
CAN YOU EXPLAIN WHAT IS HAPPENING TO MY CASE NOW THAT I AM WAITING FOR CHARGES TO BE FILED AGAINST THE SUSPECT?
The decision to file charges is ultimately made by the Adams County States Attorney’s Office. They review the case and assign it to a prosecutor to review. The prosecutor reviews the case and requests additional follow-up from the deputy investigating the case or files the case for charging. It usually takes several months before the case goes to trial. In complex cases, the delay can be longer. For information, you may contact the victim/witness office at 217-277-2229.
WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I THINK I HAVE A WARRANT FOR MY ARREST?
Turn yourself in! We will find you eventually one way or another. Why be in fear everywhere you hear a siren? You can also call our warrant section at 217-277-2209 and ask if you have a warrant and what the bond is. Most courts will work with you if you turn yourself in but do not have the entire bond. It is much better to turn yourself in than for a deputy to find you and bring you in wearing handcuffs.
WHAT ARE THE CONDITIONS OF THE BOND I POSTED?
If you are admitted to bail before conviction, the conditions of the bail bond shall be that you will:
Appear to answer the charge in court having jurisdiction on a day certain and thereafter as ordered by the court until discharge or final order of the court.
Submit yourself to the orders and process of the court.
Not depart this State without leave.
Not violate any criminal statute of any jurisdiction.
Obey such other conditions as the court may impose.
Provide the Clerk of the Circuit court with any change of address.
Additionally, if the victim/complainant in this case is a family or household member as defined in Article 112A of the Domestic Violence Act, you shall not:
Have any contact with nor communicate with the victim/complainant for a minimum period of seventy two (72) hours following your release from custody.
Enter or remain at the residence where the victim/complainant is residing for a minimum period of seventy two (72) hours following our release from police custody.
If you are admitted to bail after conviction, the conditions of the bail bond shall be that you will:
Duly prosecute your appeal.
Appear at such time and place as the court may direct.
Not depart this state without leave of the court.
Obey such other conditions as the court may impose.
If the judgment is affirmed or the cause reversed and remanded for a new trial, forthwith surrender to the officer from whose custody you were bailed.