Who needs to register under the assumed business name act?
Sole proprietorships - Businesses defined under state law as being owned by an individual or married couple.
General partnerships - An association of two or more persons who carry on as co-owners of a for-profit business entity.
Professional services corporations - A business corporation formed by an individual or group of individuals who are required by law to be licensed or obtain other legal authorization from the state to deliver services (examples include doctors, dentists, land surveyors, podiatrists and some attorneys). Proof of filing with the Secretary of State's office is required.
NOTE: By adding any word(s) to your own personal name you have constituted an assumed name. For example, adding the word “Company” or “Service” behind your personal name constitutes an assumed name.
What is required before you can obtain an assumed name certificate?
A fee of $20.00.
Notarized signatures for EACH person doing business under the name (The notarized signatures will be required on the application).
How can you register an assumed name?
In-person - You may register under the Assumed Business Name Act by stopping by our office at 507 Vermont Street, Quincy, IL, Monday thru Friday between 8:30am and 4:30pm to fill out an application.
By Mail - Fill out the application, sign and have it notarized, and mail it with a check or money order made payable to the Adams County Clerk at:
507 Vermont St
Quincy, IL 62301
What steps are required next?
Once the application is received in the County Clerk’s office, we will issue you a certificate. This certificate can be taken to any newspaper of general circulation in Adams County. It must be published once a week for three weeks. The first publication must appear within fifteen (15) days from the date the certificate is filed. Upon receiving proof of publication from the newspaper, we will send you a certificate of Ownership of Business. Consider providing emergency contact (key holder) information to the Quincy/Adams County 9-1-1 Communications Center. Follow this link to find out more about the business information sheet.
What if there are changes in the business information?
If there is any change in the address, name of owner(s) or address, it is necessary to file a Supplemental Assumed Name Certificate with the County Clerk’s Office, indicating the change. The filing fee for this is $1.50.
Publication is again required if the change involves: adding owner(s) names to the business, closing the business, withdrawing owner(s) names when withdrawal involves 25% or more of the total ownership, or change of business address.
Applications for New Assumed names and Supplemental Certificates: