As part of our mission, the Adams County Health Department is pleased to offer an opportunity to complete the required Certified Food Protection Manager training with us.All sessions are taught by an ACHD Environmental Health Sanitarian. The Adams County Health Department provides classroom training for food managers as well as online training for food managers and food handlers.
Which Class Do You Need to Take?
Food Managers: The Certified Food Protection Managers class is typically for supervisors and managers. However, anyone can take this course.This course requires 8 hours of training followed by a 90-question exam. Once students pass the exam, they will be ServSafe certified. These certificates are valid for 5 years and meet all Illinois requirements.
Food Handlers: The Food Handler training is required of all restaurant employees who work with unpackaged food, food equipment & utensils, or food-contact surfaces.This requirement includes dish washers and any wait staff that prepares food and/or wraps utensils. These certificates are valid for 3 years. (Note: Individuals who have the Certified Food Protection Manager Certification are exempt from the Food-Handler training). Visit the Illinois Department of Public Health’s website for additional FAQ's on Food Handler Training.
Food Manager Classes
The Certified Food Protection Managers class uses the National Restaurant Association’s Servsafe program, which incorporates lectures, videos, and hands-on activities to teach important food safety topics. Participants will learn to implement essential food safety practices and create a culture of food safety at their establishment.
Online Food Safety Classes
Food Manager and Food Handler Training can also be taken at AdamsCountyHD.statefoodsafety.com.
Note: After completing the Food Manager course, students will have to take a scheduled exam at the Adams County Health Department. Students taking the Food Handler course will take their quiz online.
Two Day Class Schedule:
- Day 1: 8:30am - 3:30pm, One hour lunch on your own
- Day 2: 9:30am - 11:30am, Exam is given on day two
ServSafe/Certified Food Protection Manager Class 2020 Schedule
- August 6 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 13 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- September 3 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 10 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- October 1 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 8 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- November 5 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 12 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- December (No Classes)
ServSafe/Certified Food Protection Manager Class 2021 Schedule
- January 7 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 14 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- February 4 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 11 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- March 4 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 11 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- April 1 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 8 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- May 6 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 13 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- June 3 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 10 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- July 1 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 8 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- August 5 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 12 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- September 2 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 9 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- October 7 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 14 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- November 4 (8:30am – 3:30pm) & 11 (9:30am – 11:30am)
- December (No Classes)
*** Retake & Online Exams are offered on the second Tuesday of class at 2:00pm ***
Schedule: Illinois State Law requires this course to be an 8 hour course. The class is held on two consecutive Thursdays. This is to give the student an opportunity to study the material prior to the exam. The exam is given during the morning of the second day of class. You must attend both days of class to take the exam. Failure to attend any part of the class without prior approval forfeits the class fee. A one-hour lunch break and short breaks are built into class schedule each day.
Exam: On the day of the exam, you must provide a photo ID. A score of 75% or higher is required to pass the exam. If you do not pass the exam you may sign up to retake it on one of our upcoming exam session dates. A reexamination fee of $50 must be paid prior to the exam date.
Location: All courses are held at the Adams County Health Department, Lower Level, 330 Vermont St, Quincy, IL.
Class size is limited: Classes are based on a first come first serve basis. Attendee’s position in the class will only be guaranteed when fees have been paid. To be fully registered, all course and book fees must be paid seven days prior to the first day of class.
- $125 - includes course and exam
- $52 - book purchase (ServSafe Manager 7th Edition)
- $20 - book rental (ServSafe Manager 7th Edition)
- $50 - retake exam (individual can sit in on another scheduled class for no charge)
Book Rental terms:
- Payment of fee for course at time book is issued
- Return book at end of course
- Damage reimbursement if any, would occur prior to answer sheet being sent for completion of course
We accept cash, check, debit and credit card payments. Credit and debit cards are subject to additional convenience fee (up to 2.75%+$1.50).
Registration: Call (217) 222-8440 to reserve your seat in an upcoming class, or to register for a class, please complete the form below: