Merit Commission

The Adams County Sheriffs Department Merit Commission was established February 10, 1970 by resolution of the Adams County Board. In November of 1972, an Attorney General of Illinois opinion stated that no member of the County Board may serve as a member of the Merit Commission. In 1986, the Merit Commission was increased to a five member commission from the three member Commission.

The Merit Commission shall have the duties, pursuant to recognized merit principles of public employment, of certification for employment and promotion, and upon complaint of the sheriff or states attorney as limited in this Division, to discipline or discharge as the circumstances may warrant. In Adams County, all full time deputy sheriffs and corrections officer are under the jurisdiction of this Act and under the jurisdiction of the Commission.

Member Contact Information Term Expires
Dennis E. Venvertloh, Chairman
1334 Maas Rd
Quincy, IL 62305
Glenn R. Sanders II
1049 E 1453rd Ln
Quincy, IL 62305
William E. Anderson, Secretary
928 Rim Rd
Quincy, IL 62305
Terry Gibson
2018 S 39th St
Quincy, IL 62305
James Hansen
2517 Old Orchard Rd
Quincy, IL 62305

Merit Commission Meeting Schedule

All meetings are held at in the Adams County Courthouse.  Access to meetings are through the West Vermont St door.

Day Date Year Time
Wednesday      January 15  2020 6:30 pm
Wednesday      April 15  2020 6:30 pm
Wednesday       August 19  2020 6:30 pm
Wednesday      November 18 2020 6:30 pm